Cornelia Horak

Rosalinde

The freelance soprano from Vienna is a sought-after concert and opera singer with a varied repertoire.

 

From the age of 12, Cornelia Horak studied recorder at the Vienna Conservatory with Ernst Kölz and with Hans Maria Kneihs at the University of Music and Performing Arts in Vienna. The singer completed her singing studies with KS Hilde Rössel-Majdan at the Goethean Conservatory in Vienna. Baroque singing courses with Cristina Miatello in Padua complemented her musical training. During her permanent engagements from 1993 to 2007 at the Tiroler Landestheater, the Vienna Volksoper and the Theater am Gärtnerplatz in Munich, she developed over 50 roles.

 

The soprano was the winner of the international song competition in s'Hertogenbosch and was nominated twice for the Merkur Theater Prize in Munich. Guest performances and concerts have taken the singer to numerous festivals, including the Salzburg Festival, the Ultrasound Festival 2014 Berlin, the Carinthian Summer, the Musica Viva Festival of the Bavarian Radio, the Styriarte Graz, the Bregenz Festival, the Budapest Spring Festival and the L'Arte Festival salva L'Arte in Rome.

 

In the concert area, Cornelia Horak works regularly with René Clemencic, the Wiener Singakademie under the direction of Heinz Ferlesch, as well as various chamber music formations and can be heard at numerous high offices and concerts in the field of sacred music.

 

The soprano was and is a guest at numerous European opera houses, including the Theater an der Wien (in W. Egks “Peer Gynt” and in “The Visit of the Old Lady” - Gottfried von Eine), at the Teatro la Fenice in Venice on Nationaltheater Weimar, at the Opéra National de Lorraine in Nancy, at the musical comedy in Leipzig and at the Staatstheater am Gärtnerplatz, sang under conductors such as Ulf Schirmer, Christian Thielemann, Sir Neville Marriner, Franz Bauer-Theussl, Adam Fischer, Ivor Bolton and Friedrich Cerha and worked with directors such as Claus Guth, Robert Carsen, Michael Sturminger, Brigitte Fassbaender, Helmuth Matiasek and Josef E. Köpplinger.

 

In the coming season the program includes: Concerts at the Musikverein Wien, in Graz with “recreation - GROSSES ORCHESTER GRAZ” and at the Laxenburg Palace Theater - Large Mass in C minor by WA Mozart. At the Operette Langenlois the artist can be seen in Johann Strauss' operetta “Die Fledermaus”.

 

www.corneliahorak.at

Photo: Barbara Pálffy

 

Erwin Belakowitsch

Herr von Eisenstein

Erwin Belakowitsch was a soloist with the Vienna Boys' Choir and studied singing at the University of Music and Performing Arts Vienna. He has appeared as an actor in more than sixty roles from opera, operetta and musicals at the state theaters Gärtnerplatztheater in Munich, Schwerin, Braunschweig and Kassel, at the theaters in Regensburg, Münster, Lucerne, Magdeburg, at the Tiroler Landestheater, at the Vorarlberger Landestheater and the United Theaters in Bozen , the Stadttheater Klagenfurt, the Schauspielhaus Wien, the Bregenz Festival and the Mörbisch Seefestspiele.

 

For several years he was a member of the ensemble at the Ulm Theater and at the Meiningen State Theater. In addition to many other prizes, he won the International Joseph Suder Song Competition and the International Johannes Brahms Competition, in which he was most recently a member of the jury. Recitals and opera productions have taken him to Japan, Korea, South America and Australia, where he also worked as a singing lecturer at the Sydney University of Music. His discography includes "Die Schöne Müllerin" and "Drang into die Ferne" (Gramola records), complete recordings of  "Der Bettelstudent" and "Anatevka "(oehmsclassics)," Belakowitsch sings Jurman "(orlando records) and" Mein Herz lässt dich grüßen”(Preiser Records). Since 1999 he has been involved in thirteen festival summers in Langenlois.

 

www.erwin-belakowitsch.com

Photo: zVg

 
web_hedwig_j%C3%A4nner_2021-5_edited.jpg

Hedwig Ritter

Adele

The young soprano Hedwig Ritter was born in 1995 in southern Burgenland.

She began taking trumpet lessons at an early age and then studied the instrument from 2005-2011 at the Kunstuni Graz (Expositur Oberschützen) with Hans-Peter Schuh in preparation.

 

After graduating from the Oberschützen high school, she completed a bachelor's degree in solo singing at the MUK (Music and Art Private University of the City of Vienna) with Uta Schwabe; She spent one year of that time abroad at the HfMT Cologne in Kai Wessel's class.

 

After her first freelance engagements (First Witch in Dido and Aeneas by Purcell at the Theater Aachen, Adele in Die Fledermaus by Strauss at the Vienna Metropol, Oberto in Alcina by Handel at the MuTh Vienna, etc.) she has now been in the 2020/21 season Upper Austrian opera studio of the Linz State Theater engaged. There they can expect roles such as Hannerl in the Dreimäderlhaus by Berté / Schubert / Rudner and Carolina in Il matrimonio segreto by Cimarosa.

 

In addition to opera / operetta, particular interest is devoted to church music (St. Stephen's Cathedral in Vienna, Martin's Cathedral in Eisenstadt, etc.) and new music (e.g. the premiere of Aria mortale. Vogler's high trapeze act as part of eight bridges in the WDR broadcasting hall in Cologne).

 

www.hedwigritter.com

Photo: Theresa Wey

 

Martin Achrainer

Dr. Falke

"His warm, lyrical voice is easy to listen to" (The "New York Times" on Achrainer, for the American premiere of the opera Kepler by Philip Glass)

The Austrian baritone completed an acting training at the renowned Max Reinhardt Seminar in Vienna before he began his classical singing studies with Rotraud Hansmann at the MDW Vienna. Further formative teachers were Brigitte Fassbaender, Robert Holl, Charles Spencer and Irina Gavrilovici. From 2004 to 2006 he was engaged at the Tiroler Landestheater, 2006 to 2008 at the Opéra National de Bordeaux (F), since 2008/09 he has been one of the pillars of the opera ensemble at the Landestheater Linz. The baritone was the winner of international singing competitions, including the Robert Schumann Competition, Hugo Wolf Prize, Gradus ad Parnassum and Hilde Zadek Competition. In 2014 Achrainer was the first ever to be awarded the Richard Tauber Medal.

 

Due to his extensive concert activities, which regularly took him to major concert halls in Europe, the USA, Korea and Japan, he sang over 90 roles in opera and oratorio, among others under Franz Welser-Möst, Dennis Russel Davies, Kurt Masur, Marc Minkowski, Markus Poschner, James Gaffigan, Ralf Weikert, Brigitte Fassbaender, Harry Kupfer, Sir David Pountney, Bob Wilson and La Fura dels Baus.

The Oscar-nominated composer Philip Glass dedicated the title role of his opera "Kepler" to Martin Achrainer, as well as the orchestral song cycle "Songs of Milarepa". Other composers such as Kurt Schwertsik, Alexander Balanescu, Ernst L. Leitner, Ingo Ingensand and Rudolf Kelterborn wrote works for the singer. Numerous international CD and DVD publications as well as radio and television recordings document his musical work.

 

In the 2019/20 season Achrainer can be heard as Amfortas in Richard Wagner's Parsifal at the Musiktheater Linz and will be Orest in Richard Strauss Elektra at the Stadttheater Klagenfurt.

 

www.martinachrainer.com

Photo: zVg

 

Roman Sadnik

Orlofsky

Roman Sadnik, born in Vienna, has developed a broad international repertoire in recent years (including Tristan, Tannhäuser, Siegmund, Bacchus, Herodes, Max, Florestan, Laca, Gregor, Gherman, Canio, Otello, Radames, Cyrano de Bergerac , Dead City- Paul) made a name. His engagements have taken him to the most important opera and concert halls in Europe such as the Vienna State Opera, Bavarian State Opera, Scala Milan, Bastille Paris, Theater an der Wien, Catania, Amsterdam, Lyon, Volksoper Vienna, the Salzburg - Munich - Athens Opera Festival, the Aix en Provence and Schwetzingen Festival, the Wiener Festwochen, the Wiener Musikverein, the Wiener Konzerthaus and the Concertgebouw Amsterdam. He worked with conductors such as Zubin Metha, Georges Prêtre, Claudio Abbado, Kyrill Petrenko, Ingo Metzmacher, Daniele Gatti, Daniel Harding, Fabio Luisi, Jun Märkl, Mark Albrecht, Michel Plasson, Michael Boder, Stefan Soltesz, Udo Zimmermann.

 

www.sadnik.at

Photo: zVg

 

Stephen Chaundy

Alfred

The London-born tenor Stephen Chaundy studied singing at the Royal Northern College of Music in Manchester, the Royal Welsh College of Music & Drama and the Accademia Chigiana in Siena. His teachers include Antonio Carangelo, Umberto Grilli, John Mitchinson, Nicholas Powell and Ks. Wicus Slabbert. He was a member of the ensemble at the Tiroler Landestheater in Innsbruck (1997–1999) and at the Vienna Volksoper (1999–2006). International engagements led him among others. to the Opéra de Monte-Carlo, the Scottish Opera, the Vest Norgens Opera in Bergen, the Landestheater Linz, the Theater an der Wien, the Klosterneuburg Festival and the Langenlois Castle Festival. Stephen Chaundy sang in concert performances at the Concertgebouw Amsterdam and the Queen Elizabeth Hall in London. He has performed with the Radio Filharmonisch Orkest Hilversum, the Hallé Orchestra, the Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen and the Tonkünstler-Orchester Wien and has worked with William Boughton, Edo de Waart, Sian Edwards, Claus Peter Flor, Julia Jones, Karen Kamensek and David, among others Parry, Donald Runnicles and Alberto Zedda.


Stephan Chaundy was able to develop a broad repertoire in the fields of opera, operetta and musicals. He sang the title role of "Candide" (Deutsche Oper Berlin, Volksoper Wien), Paris (Tippett's "King Priam"), Gerald ("Lakmé"), Malcolm (Bloch's "Macbeth"), Alfred ("Die Fledermaus"), Don Ottavio ("Don Giovanni"), Joseph Cable ("South Pacific"), Camille de Rosillon ("The Merry Widow"), Edwin ("Die Csárdásfürstin"), Don Ottavio ("Don Giovanni") and John Triptolemus in the World premiere of Orlando Gough's "The Finnish Prisoner" with the company "The Paddock" in Lewes. In 2017 he sang the title role in the world premiere of Šimon Voseček's opera “Biedermann und die Brandstifter” for the Neue Oper Wien and the Teatro Communale Bolzano. Between 2011 and 2015 he took on all three leading roles in Britten's three-part opera “Church Parables” for the Retz Festival (Madwoman in “Curlew River”, Nebuchadnezzar in “The Burning Fiery Furnace”, Tempter / Abbot in “Prodigal Son”). In 2015 he performed as Professor Higgins (“My Fair Lady”) at the Cologne Opera and also made a guest appearance with this production at the Royal Opera House in Muscat / Oman. After his debut at the Magdeburg Theater as Robbespierre in Gottfried von Einem's “Dantons Tod” in the 2017/2018 season, he has been performing as Count Tassilo in the Kálmán operetta “Gräfin Mariza” since last season.

 

Photo: zVg

 

Horst Lamnek

Gefängnisdirektor Frank

After studying singing at the University of Music and Performing Arts in Vienna, the Viennese bass baritone was a member of the International Opera Studio in Zurich, as well as in the ensemble of the Ulm Theater and the Komische Oper Berlin. He has also made guest appearances at the Leipzig Opera, in Chemnitz, Bonn, Wiesbaden, Essen, at the New Music Theater Linz, at the Theater an der Wien, at the Opéra-Théâtre de Metz Métropole, as well as at the Teatro Verdi Trieste, the Teatro Regio Turin, Teatro Petruzzelli (Bari) or at the New National Theater in Tokyo.
Horst Lamnek's broad repertoire includes bass buffo roles such as Leporello (Don Giovanni), Don Alfonso (Cosi fan tutte), Bartolo (Il Barbiere di Siviglia), Don Magnifico (La Cenerentola), in the operetta field Frank (Die Fledermaus), Baron Gondremark (Parisian Leben), Baron Weps (The Bird Trader), or dramatic roles such as La Roche (Capriccio) or Klingsor (Parsifal).


He performs at renowned festivals and concerts at the Grafenegg Music Festival, the St. Margarethen Opera Festival, the Festival de Pâques (Aix en Provence), Daegu Opera Festival (South Korea), Auckland Festival (New Zealand), Adelaide and Perth Festival (Australia), in the Wiener Konzerthaus, in the Berlin Philharmonie, in the Laeiszhalle (Hamburg), in the Bremer Glocke or in the Auditorio Nacional (Madrid). With particular devotion he devotes himself to the songs of Hugo Wolf. In 2017, Coviello Classics released his first solo CD
with the title "The cheerful wolf".

 

www.lamnek.at

Photo: Vanessa Maas

 
Foto%20Mila%20Schmidt_edited.jpg

Mila Schmidt

Ida

After studying singing at the University of Music and Performing Arts in Vienna, the Viennese bass baritone was a member of the International Opera Studio in Zurich, as well as in the ensemble of the Ulm Theater and the Komische Oper Berlin. He has also made guest appearances at the Leipzig Opera, in Chemnitz, Bonn, Wiesbaden, Essen, at the New Music Theater Linz, at the Theater an der Wien, at the Opéra-Théâtre de Metz Métropole, as well as at the Teatro Verdi Trieste, the Teatro Regio Turin, Teatro Petruzzelli (Bari) or at the New National Theater in Tokyo.
Horst Lamnek's broad repertoire includes bass buffo roles such as Leporello (Don Giovanni), Don Alfonso (Cosi fan tutte), Bartolo (Il Barbiere di Siviglia), Don Magnifico (La Cenerentola), in the operetta field Frank (Die Fledermaus), Baron Gondremark (Parisian Leben), Baron Weps (The Bird Trader), or dramatic roles such as La Roche (Capriccio) or Klingsor (Parsifal).


He performs at renowned festivals and concerts at the Grafenegg Music Festival, the St. Margarethen Opera Festival, the Festival de Pâques (Aix en Provence), Daegu Opera Festival (South Korea), Auckland Festival (New Zealand), Adelaide and Perth Festival (Australia), in the Wiener Konzerthaus, in the Berlin Philharmonie, in the Laeiszhalle (Hamburg), in the Bremer Glocke or in the Auditorio Nacional (Madrid). With particular devotion he devotes himself to the songs of Hugo Wolf. In 2017, Coviello Classics released his first solo CD
with the title "The cheerful wolf".

 

www.lamnek.at

Photo: Vanessa Maas

 

Stefan Fleischhacker 

Dr. Blind / Eleonore von Pfiff

Born in Kufstein / Tyrol

Vocal training in Wörgl / Tyrol, Milan (conservatory) and Vienna.

1986 Foundation of a free opera company in Vienna. Head of various opera projects as a singer and director.

1993 founding of the LEO association, last enjoyable opera theater. Guest performances with contemporary Italian operas: Marco Pontini, L'Invito, L'Orso, Il fumo fa male, Carlo Pedini: Il Miracolo, at the Festivalterme Bagni di Lucca and Festival di Perugia.

1994 - 1996 Operetta tours through Germany, Austria, Switzerland and Holland with Buffopartien: Boni (Csardasfürstin), Toni (circus princess), Brissard (The Count of Luxembourg)

Work for Austria's advertising with operetta guest performances in the USA, Japan, Germany and Austria.

1996 Foundation and management of his own theater in Vienna: Theater LEO Ungargasse 18, 1030 Vienna. www.theaterleo.at

Guest performances and collaborations with the Theater an der Wien, Estate Romano, Festival di Perugia, Festivalterme Bagni di Lucca, among others.

Numerous appearances with parts of the lyric and youthful dramatic tenor, such as Hoffmann, Turridu, Canio, Don Carlos, Cavaradossi, Florestan and Tannhauser.

 

Photo: zVg

 

Christoph Wagner-Trenkwitz

Frosch

Born in Vienna, 1989 graduation as Mag. Phil. (Musicology, romance studies, political science). 1989-1992 general secretary of the Friends of the Vienna State Opera, 1993-96 press chief of the Vienna State and Volksoper, 1996-2001 chief dramaturge, 2001-03 guest dramaturge of the Vienna State Opera, here introductory matinees in the successor of Marcel Prawy. Wagner-Trenkwitz took over the artistic direction of the Operette Langenlois in autumn 2019.

 

Since 2003 member of the management of the Volksoper Vienna, since 2009 its chief dramaturge. Moderator on national and international stages (including opening of the Wiener Festwochen on the Vienna Rathausplatz, matinees at the Gärtnerplatz-Theater in Munich, at the Salzburg Easter Festival and concert moderation at the festival in Grafenegg), on the radio (including Pasticcio, Anklang and since 2009 Live Broadcast of the Vienna New Year's Concert) and on television (since 2001 Vienna Opera Ball). 2013-2016 director of the Hague Theater Summer.

 

Numerous books, most recently “The orchestra that never sleeps. The Vienna Philharmonic "(2017).

 

Performances as actors 2017-2019 / 2020 (selection): Pelikan ("The Circus Princess") at the Graz Opera, Njegus ("The Merry Widow") at the Operette Langenlois, Kaunitz ("The Empress") and Dragotin ("Gypsy Love" ) at Bühne Baden, the title role in "The Magician of Oz" at the Stadttheater Klagenfurt as well as annual participation in the cabaret program in the "Hell" at the Theater an der Wien (2019 "The Burning Divan"). From March 2020 Christoph Wagner-Trenkwitz as "Frosch" ("Die Fledermaus") on the stage of the Bonn Theater.

 

www.wagnertrenkwitz.at

Photo: Peter Strobl

Cornelia Horak

Rosalinde

Die freischaffende Sopranistin aus Wien ist eine gefragte Konzert- und Opernsängerin mit einem vielseitigen Repertoire.

 

Cornelia Horak studierte ab ihrem 12. Lebensjahr Blockflöte am Konservatorium der Stadt Wien bei Ernst Kölz sowie bei Hans Maria Kneihs an der Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst in Wien. Die Sängerin absolvierte ihr Gesangstudium bei KS Hilde Rössel-Majdan am Goetheanistischen Konservatorium in Wien. Barockgesangskurse bei Cristina Miatello in Padua ergänzten ihre musikalische Ausbildung. Während ihrer festen Engagements von 1993 bis 2007 am Tiroler Landestheater, an der Wiener Volksoper  sowie am Theater am Gärtnerplatz in München, erarbeitete sie sich über 50 Rollen.

 

Die Sopranistin war Gewinnerin des internationalen Liedwettbewerbs in s‘Hertogenbosch und wurde zweimal für den Merkur Theaterpreis in München nominiert. Gastspiele und Konzerte führten die Sängerin zu etlichen Festivals, u.a. den Salzburger Festspielen, dem Ultraschall Festival 2014 Berlin, dem Carinthischen Sommer, dem Musica Viva Festival des Bayerischen Rundfunks, der Styriarte Graz, den Bregenzer Festspielen, dem Budapester Frühlingsfestival und dem Festival L‘Arte salva L‘Arte in Rom.

 

Im Konzertbereich arbeitet Cornelia Horak regelmäßig mit René Clemencic, der Wiener Singakademie unter der Leitung von Heinz Ferlesch, sowie unterschiedlichen Kammermusik Formationen zusammen und ist bei zahlreichen Hochämtern und Konzerten im Bereich der Sakralmusik zu hören.

 

Die Sopranistin war und ist an zahlreichen europäischen Opernhäusern zu Gast, u.a im Theater an der Wien (in W. Egks „Peer Gynt“ und in „Der Besuch der alten Dame“ – Gottfried von Einem), am Teatro la Fenice in Venedig, am Nationaltheater Weimar, an der Opéra National de Lorraine in Nancy, an der musikalischen Komödie in Leipzig und am Staatstheater am Gärtnerplatz, sang unter Dirigenten wie Ulf Schirmer, Christian Thielemann, Sir Neville Marriner, Franz Bauer-Theussl, Adam Fischer, Ivor Bolton und Friedrich Cerha und arbeitete mit Regisseuren wie Claus Guth, Robert Carsen, Michael Sturminger, Brigitte Fassbaender, Helmuth Matiasek und Josef E. Köpplinger zusammen. 

 

In der kommenden Saison stehen u.a. auf dem Programm: Konzerte im Musikverein Wien, in Graz mit „recreation – GROSSES ORCHESTER GRAZ“  und im Schloßtheater Laxenburg - Große Messe in c-moll von W.A. Mozart. Bei den Schloßfestspielen Langenlois ist die Künstlerin in der Operette von Johann Strauss „Die Fledermaus“ zu erleben.

www.corneliahorak.at

Foto: Barbara Pálffy

 

Erwin Belakowitsch

Herr von Eisenstein

Erwin Belakowitsch war Solist bei den Wiener Sängerknaben und studierte Gesang an der Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst Wien. In mehr als sechzig Rollen aus Oper, Operette, Musical als Schauspieler gastierte er an den Staatstheatern Gärtnerplatztheater München, Schwerin, Braunschweig und Kassel, an den Theatern Regensburg, Münster, Luzern, Magdeburg, am Tiroler Landestheater, am Vorarlberger Landestheater, den Vereinigten Bühnen Bozen, dem Stadttheater Klagenfurt, dem Schauspielhaus Wien, bei den Bregenzer Festspielen und den Seefestspielen Mörbisch.

Er war mehrere Jahre Ensemblemitglied am Theater Ulm und am Meininger Staatstheater. Neben vielen anderen Preisen gewann er den Internationalen Joseph-Suder-Liedwettbewerb und den Internationalen Johannes-Brahms-Wettbewerb, bei welchem er zuletzt auch Jurymitglied war. Liederabende und Opernproduktionen führten ihn nach Japan, Korea, Südamerika und Australien, wo er auch als Gesangsdozent an der Sydney University of Music tätig war. Zu seiner Diskographie zählen „Die schöne Müllerin“ und „Drang in die Ferne“ (Gramola records), Gesamtaufnahmen von "“Der Bettelstudent“ und „Anatevka“ (oehmsclassics), „Belakowitsch sings Jurman" (orlando records) und „Mein Herz lässt dich grüßen“ (Preiser Records).  Seit 1999 war er in dreizehn Festspielsommern in Langenlois engagiert. 

www.erwin-belakowitsch.com

Foto: zVg

 
web_hedwig_j%C3%A4nner_2021-5_edited.jpg

Hedwig Ritter

Adele

Die junge Sopranistin Hedwig Ritter wurde 1995 im Südburgenland geboren.

Schon früh begann sie Trompetenunterricht zu nehmen und studierte das Instrument dann von 2005-2011 an der Kunstuni Graz (Expositur Oberschützen) bei Hans-Peter Schuh auf Vorbereitung.

Nach der Matura am Musikgymnasium Oberschützen absolvierte sie ein Bachelorstudium Sologesang an der MUK (Musik und Kunst Privatuniversität der Stadt Wien) bei Uta Schwabe; ein Jahr davon verbrachte sie im Auslandsaufenthalt an der HfMT Köln in der Klasse von Kai Wessel.

Nach ersten freien Engagements (First Witch in Dido and Aeneas von Purcell am Theater Aachen, Adele in Die Fledermaus von Strauß am Wiener Metropol, Oberto in Alcina von Händel im MuTh Wien u.ä.) ist sie nun seit der Spielzeit 2020/21 im Oberösterreichischen Opernstudio des Landestheaters Linz engagiert. Dort erwarten sie u.a. Rollen wie Hannerl im Dreimäderlhaus von Berté/Schubert/Rudner und Carolina in Il matrimonio segreto von Cimarosa.

Ein besonderes Interesse gilt neben der Oper/Operette der kirchenmusikalischen Tätigkeit (Stephansdom Wien, Martinsdom Eisenstadt, etc.) und Neuer Musik (z.B. UA von Aria mortale. Ein musikalischer Hochtrapezakt von Vogler im Rahmen von Achtbrücken im WDR Sendesaal Köln).

www.hedwigritter.com

Foto: Theresa Wey

 

Martin Achrainer

Dr. Falke

„Seine warme, lyrische Stimme geht einfach ins Ohr“ (Die "New York Times" über Achrainer, für die amerikanischen Erstaufführung der Oper Kepler von Philip Glass) 

Der österreichische Bariton absolvierte eine Schauspielausbildung am renommierten Max Reinhardt Seminar in Wien, bevor er sein klassisches Gesangsstudium bei Rotraud Hansmann an der MDW Wien aufnahm. Weitere prägende Lehrer waren Brigitte Fassbaender, Robert Holl, Charles Spencer und Irina Gavrilovici. Von 2004 bis 2006 war er am Tiroler Landestheater engagiert, 2006 bis 2008 an der Opéra National de Bordeaux (F), seit 2008/09 ist er eine der Säulen des Opernensembles am Landestheater Linz. Der Bariton war Preisträger internationaler Gesangsbewerbe u.a. Robert Schumann-Wettbewerb, Hugo-Wolf-Preis, Gradus ad Parnassum und Hilde Zadek Bewerb. 2014 wurde Achrainer als erstem Preisträger überhaupt, die Richard Tauber Medaille verliehen.

Durch seine umfangreiche Konzerttätigkeit, die ihn regelmäßig in bedeutende Konzertsäle in Europa, den USA, Korea und Japan führte, sang er über 90 Partien in Oper und Oratorium, u.a. unter Franz Welser-Möst, Dennis Russel Davies, Kurt Masur, Marc Minkowski, Markus Poschner,  James Gaffigan, Ralf Weikert, Brigitte Fassbaender, Harry Kupfer, Sir David Pountney, Bob Wilson und La Fura dels Baus. 

Der oscarnominierte Komponist Philip Glass widmete Martin Achrainer die Titelpartie seiner Oper «Kepler», sowie den Orchester-Liedzyklus "Songs of Milarepa". Weitere Komponisten wie Kurt Schwertsik, Alexander Balanescu, Ernst L. Leitner, Ingo Ingensand und Rudolf Kelterborn schrieben Werke für den Sänger. Zahlreiche internationale CD und DVD Veröffentlichungen, sowie Rundfunk- und Fernsehaufnahmen dokumentieren seine musikalische Arbeit.

In der Saison 2019/20 ist Achrainer u.a.: als Amfortas in Richard Wagners Parsifal am Musiktheater Linz zu hören und wird den Orest in Richard Strauss Elektra am Stadttheater Klagenfurt geben.

 

www.martinachrainer.com

Foto: zVg

 

Roman Sadnik

Orlofsky

Roman Sadnik, geboren in Wien, hat sich in den letzten Jahren international mit einem breiten Repertoire (u.a. als Tristan, Tannhäuser, Siegmund, Bacchus, Herodes, Max, Florestan, Laca, Gregor, Gherman, Canio, Otello, Radames, Cyrano de Bergerac, Tote Stadt- Paul) einen Namen gemacht. Seine Engagements führten ihn u.a. an die bedeutendsten Opern- und Konzerthäuser Europas wie die Wiener Staatsoper, Bayerische Staatsoper, Mailänder Scala, Bastille  Paris, Theater an der Wien, Catania, Amsterdam, Lyon, Volksoper Wien, zu den Salzburger - Münchner - Athener Opern-Festspielen, den Festspielen von Aix en Provence und Schwetzingen, zu den Wiener Festwochen, in den Wiener Musikverein, ins Wiener Konzerthaus und das Concertgebouw Amsterdam. Er arbeitete mit Dirigenten wie Zubin Metha, Georges Prêtre, Claudio Abbado, Kyrill Petrenko, Ingo Metzmacher, Daniele Gatti, Daniel Harding, Fabio Luisi, Jun Märkl, Mark Albrecht, Michel Plasson, Michael Boder, Stefan Soltesz, Udo Zimmermann.

 

www.sadnik.at 

Foto: zVg

 

Stephen Chaundy

Alfred

Der aus London stammende Tenor Stephen Chaundy studierte Gesang am Royal Northern College of Music in Manchester, am Royal Welsh College of Music & Drama sowie an der Accademia Chigiana in Siena. Zu seinen Lehrern zählen u. a. Antonio Carangelo, Umberto Grilli, John Mitchinson, Nicholas Powell und Ks. Wicus Slabbert. Er war Ensemblemitglied am Tiroler Landestheater in Innsbruck (1997–1999) und an der Wiener Volksoper (1999–2006). Internationale Engagements führten ihn u. a. an die Opéra de Monte-Carlo, an die Scottish Opera, an die Vest Norgens Opera in Bergen, an das Landestheater Linz, ans Theater an der Wien, zu den Festspielen Klosterneuburg und zu den Schlossfestspielen Langenlois. In konzertanten Aufführungen sang Stephen Chaundy am Concertgebouw Amsterdam und in der Queen Elizabeth Hall in London. Er trat zusammen mit dem Radio Filharmonisch Orkest Hilversum, dem Hallé Orchestra, der Deutschen Kammerphilharmonie Bremen sowie dem Tonkünstler-Orchester Wien auf und arbeitete u. a. mit William Boughton, Edo de Waart, Sian Edwards, Claus Peter Flor, Julia Jones, Karen Kamensek, David Parry, Donald Runnicles und Alberto Zedda.


Im Bereich Oper, Operette und Musical konnte sich Stephan Chaundy ein breites Repertoire erarbeiten. Er sang u. a. die Titelpartie von »Candide« (Deutsche Oper Berlin, Volksoper Wien), Paris (Tippetts »King Priam«), Gerald (»Lakmé«), Malcolm (Blochs »Macbeth«), Alfred (»Die Fledermaus«), Don Ottavio (»Don Giovanni«), Joseph Cable (»South Pacific«), Camille de Rosillon (»Die lustige Witwe«), Edwin (»Die Csárdásfürstin«), Don Ottavio (»Don Giovanni«) und John Triptolemus in der Uraufführung von Orlando Goughs »The Finnish Prisoner« mit der Company »The Paddock« in Lewes. 2017 sang er die Titelpartie in der Uraufführung von Šimon Vosečeks Oper »Biedermann und die Brandstifter« für die Neue Oper Wien und das Teatro Communale Bolzano. Für das Festival Retz übernahm er zwischen 2011 und 2015 alle drei Hauptrollen in Brittens Opern-Dreiteiler »Church Parables« (Madwoman in »Curlew River«, Nebuchadnezzar in »The Burning Fiery Furnace«, Tempter/Abbot in »Prodigal Son«). 2015 war er als Professor Higgins (»My Fair Lady«) an der Oper Köln zu erleben und gastierte mit dieser Produktion auch im Royal Opera House in Muscat/Oman. Nach seinem Debüt am Theater Magdeburg als Robbespierre in Gottfried von Einems »Dantons Tod« in der Spielzeit 2017/2018 ist er seit der vergangenen Spielzeit als Graf Tassilo in der Kálmán-Operette »Gräfin Mariza« zu erleben.

Foto: zVg

 

Horst Lamnek

Gefängnisdirektor Frank

Nach dem Gesangstudium an der Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst in Wien war der Wiener Bassbariton Mitglied im Internationale Opernstudio Zürich, sowie im Ensemble des Ulmer Theaters, sowie der Komischen Oper Berlin. Er gastierte u.a. auch an der Oper Leipzig, in Chemnitz, Bonn, Wiesbaden, Essen, am Neuen Musiktheater Linz, am Theater an der Wien, am Opéra-Théâtre de Metz Métropole, sowie am Teatro Verdi Trieste, am Teatro Regio Turin, Teatro Petruzzelli (Bari) oder am New National Theatre in Tokio.


Horst Lamneks breitgefächertes Repertoire umfasst Bassbuffo-Rollen wie Leporello (Don Giovanni), Don Alfonso (Cosi fan tutte), Bartolo (Il Barbiere di Siviglia), Don Magnifico (La Cenerentola), im Operettenfach Frank (Die Fledermaus), Baron Gondremark (Pariser Leben), Baron Weps (Der Vogelhändler), oder dramatische Partien wie La Roche (Capriccio) oder Klingsor (Parsifal).


Bei renommierten Festivals und Konzerten tritt er u.a. beim Musikfestival Grafenegg, bei den Opernfestspielen St. Margarethen, beim Festival de Pâques (Aix en Provence), Daegu Opera Festival (Südkorea), Auckland Festival (Neuseeland), Adelaide und Perth Festival (Australien), im Wiener Konzerthaus, in der Berliner Philharmonie, in der Laeiszhalle (Hamburg), in der Bremer Glocke oder im Auditorio Nacional (Madrid) auf. Mit besonderer Hingabe widmet er sich dem Liedschaffen Hugo Wolfs. 2017 erschien bei Coviello Classics seine erste Solo-CD
mit dem Titel „Der heitere Wolf“.

www.lamnek.at

Foto: Vanessa Maas

 
Foto%20Mila%20Schmidt_edited.jpg

Mila Schmidt

Ida

Mila Schmidt wurde in Wien geboren, sie ist seit 2010 beim Wiener Staatsballett engagiert. Ihre Ausbildung hat sie an der Ballettschule der Wiener Staatsoper absolviert. Zu ihren bisher wichtigsten Rollen zählten Partien in „Love Song“ und „Dolce Vita“ von Andrey Kaydanovskiy im Odeon Theater sowie in Andrey Kaydanovskiys „Das häßliche Entlein“ und „Zeitverschwendung“ in der Volksoper Wien.

 

Außerdem tanzte sie ebenfalls in der Volksoper Wien Hauptrollen in Vesna Orlic´ „Carmina Burana“, in Boris Nebylas „Nachmittag eines Fauns“ sowie in Thierry Malandains „Cendrillon (Aschenputtel)“, für die sie 2017 mit dem Förderpreis des Ballettclubs der Wiener Staatsoper und Volksoper ausgezeichnet wurde. Des weiteren war Mila Schmidt auch schon in ,Homo Sapiens', ,Der letzte Ball' und ,Zeitraum' von Eno Peci beim Origen Festival Cultural in Riom zu sehen.

 

Weiters hat Mila auch schon einige Sprechrollen, wie die ,Ida' in ,Der Fledermaus' von Johann Strauss und die Louise Bigelow in ,Carousel' von Richard Rodgers und Oscar Hammerstein an der Volksoper Wien gespielt.

Foto: Andreas Jakwerth

 

Stefan Fleischhacker 

Dr. Blind / Eleonore von Pfiff

Geb. in Kufstein/Tirol

Gesangsausbildung in Wörgl/Tirol, Mailand (Konservatorium) und Wien.

1986 Gründung einer freien Operntruppe in Wien. Leitung verschiedener Opernprojekte als Sänger und Regisseur

1993 Gründung des Vereins L.E.O. Letztes erfreuliches Operntheater. Gastspiele mit zeitgenössischen italienischen Opern: Marco Pontini, L’Invito, L’Orso, Il fumo fa male, Carlo Pedini: Il Miracolo, beim Festivalterme Bagni di Lucca und Festival di Perugia.

 

1994 – 1996 Operettentourneen durch Deutschland, Österreich, Schweiz und Holland mit Buffopartien: Boni (Csardasfürstin), Toni(Zirkusprinzessin), Brissard(Der Graf von Luxemburg)

Tätigkeit für die Österreichwerbung mit Operettengastspielen in USA, Japan, Deutschland und Österreich.

1996 Gründung und Leitung eines eigenen Theaters in Wien: Theater L.E.O. Ungargasse 18, 1030 Wien. www.theaterleo.at

Gastspiele und Kooperationen u.a. mit dem Theater an der Wien, Estate Romano, Festival di Perugia, Festivalterme Bagni die Lucca.

Zahlreiche Auftritte mit Partien des lyrischen und jugendlich dramatischen  Tenorfaches, wie z.B. Hoffmann, Turridu, Canio, Don Carlos, Cavaradossi, Florestan und Tannhäuser.

Foto: zVg

 

Christoph Wagner-Trenkwitz

Frosch

Geboren in Wien, 1989 Sponsion zum Mag. Phil. (Musikwissenschaft, Romanistik, Politikwissenschaft). 1989-1992 Generalsekretär der Freunde der Wiener Staatsoper, 1993-96 Pressechef der Wiener Staats- und Volksoper, 1996-2001 Chefdramaturg, 2001-03 Gastdramaturg der Wiener Staatsoper, hier Einführungsmatineen in der Nachfolge von Marcel Prawy. Wagner-Trenkwitz übernimmt im Herbst 2019 die künstlerische Leitung der Schlossfestspiele Langenlois.

Seit 2003 Direktionsmitglied der Volksoper Wien, seit 2009 deren Chefdramaturg. Moderator auf in- und ausländischen Bühnen (u. a. Eröffnung der Wiener Festwochen auf dem Wiener Rathausplatz, Matineen am Gärtnerplatz-Theater München, bei den Osterfestspielen Salzburg und Konzert-Moderationen beim Festival in Grafenegg), im Radio (u. a. Pasticcio, Anklang und seit 2009 Live-Übertragung des Wiener Neujahrskonzerts) und im Fernsehen (seit 2001 Wiener Opernball). 2013-2016 Intendant des Theatersommers Haag.

Zahlreiche Bücher, zuletzt „Das Orchester das niemals schläft. Die Wiener Philharmoniker" (2017).

Auftritte als Darsteller 2017-2019/2020 (Auswahl): Pelikan („Die Zirkusprinzessin") an der Oper Graz, Njegus („Die lustige Witwe") bei den Schlossfestspielen Langenlois, Kaunitz („Die Kaiserin") und Dragotin („Zigeunerliebe") an der Bühne Baden, die Titelrolle in „Der Zauberer von Oz" am Stadttheater Klagenfurt sowie alljährliche Mitwirkung beim Kabarettprogramm in der „Hölle" im Theater an der Wien (2019 „Der brennende Diwan"). Ab März 2020 ist Christoph Wagner-Trenkwitz als Frosch („Die Fledermaus") auf der Bühne des Theaters Bonn zu erleben.

www.wagnertrenkwitz.at

Foto: Peter Strobl